Pre-College Scholarship

The Indiana TRIO Board of Directors has established a scholarship program to help students finance their post-secondary education. All students who participate in a Talent Search (TS), Upward Bound (UB), Veterans Upward Bound (VUB), or Educational Opportunity Center (EOC) program in Indiana and who meet the eligibility requirements are encouraged to apply for the $500 Pre-College Board of Director's Scholarship.

One $500 scholarship will be awarded to the student selected as the winner of this scholarship. The Indiana TRIO Scholarship Committee, appointed by Indiana TRIO’s President, will select the recipient of the scholarship by middle of April.

Three (3) applications from each TRIO program will be accepted this scholarship.

Who should apply?

Students in a TS, UB, VUB, or EOC program in the state of Indiana who have been accepted for enrollment at a college or university for the fall semester as a first-time freshman and will be a full-time student.

What must be submitted?

  • High school transcript
  • The Program Director/TRIO staff member must write a nomination letter to submit with the application packet

When is the application due?

  • The TRIO Program Director must submit the application and all requested information to Heather Bauer, Scholarship Committee Chair, no later than 11:59 PM EST on March 31, 2017

The scholarship recipients will be selected on the basis of community service, academic achievement, essay, and recommendation letter. The winner will be notified at the end of April by his/her Program Director and/or the Indiana TRIO Scholarship Chairperson. Scholarship payment will be made in September/October in one lump sum after proof of enrollment for the fall 2017 term has been received by the Scholarship Chairperson along with a current mailing address. The check will be mailed to the recipient's current mailing address and payable to the student.

Indiana TRIO Pre-College Scholarship Application

Please note that TRIO staff who submit scholarship applications for students must be current on their membership in order for the applicants to be considered.

2017 Scholarship Winner

  • Roberto Medina, IPFW, Upward Bound